NZ University Team Sailing

In a new pathway of development for NZ Team Sailing, we have now established a teams racing regatta aimed towards tertiary competition! In partnership with University & Tertiary Sport New Zealand (UTSNZ) and the Royal Akarana Yacht Club (RAYC) in Auckland, the Auckland Open & University Team Sailing Champs will be taking place on the 11th & 12th September 2021.

This regatta is intended to be the start of annual competition for tertiary sailors while they’re studying and can continue to hone their team racing skills on the water. This is a chance for friends to catch up over some racing and maybe get a chance to get on the opposing side of old teammates!

The event is open to all universities – Auckland, AUT, Waikato, Massey, Victoria, Otago, Canterbury & Lincoln, as well as to open teams. Eligibility for the university category can be found in the Notice of Race on the event page – but teams are welcome to represent a single institution or enter a composite team with students from more than one university. Preferential Entry will be given to university teams up to the early entry cut-off of 6th August.

Registrations of interest and sign ups can be done individually through the sports departments of each institution. Links will be added to this page as they become available!

Event page can be found here:

Tertiary Registration Links:

University of Canterbury:

Waikato University:
(Send a message the Uni Sports Dept.)

Auckland University of Technology: Email (Online registration link coming soon)

University of Auckland: Email (Online registration link coming soon)

University of Otago:
Massey University:
Victoria University:
Lincoln University:

Leave a Reply