2020/21 Season Results

Now that the days are getting much colder we can reflect on the 2020/2021 team racing season and what schools had a season they’ll always remember!

First we had our national champions, retaining the title from 2019 – Rangitoto College. The team of Lucy Leith, Naiomi Ferrissey, Caleb Armit, Joe Leith, Seb Menzies, Alex Hebberd, Josh Ferrissey & Kayla Abbott displayed a dominant performance taking out 37 wins from 40 races, losing only to second placed Westlake Boys High. The Westlake Boys team of Brayden Hamilton, Lucas Day, George Lee Rush, Cam McGlashen, Mason Mulcahy, Zach Fong, Ben Brighouse & Alex Norman squeaked second place from Waimea College in 3rd – 31 wins to 30. Waimea College scored their schools best ever finish at the regatta after winning the Top-of-the-South regionals back in March, consisting of just six sailors – Luis Scheider, Sophia Sidley, Macgregor Jones, Ruby Campbell, Alex Bentley & Sarah Charles.

Our Girls National Champions were Epsom Girls Grammar – Amelia Angus, Nicola Hume, Grace Still, Sophia Morgan, Megan Hume & Jorja Marshall. Silver Fleet was taken by Wentworth College & the Bronze Fleet was won by New Plymouth Boys High, both of these teams we should be seeing progressing up the table going into next season!

Regional Champions were as below:
North of the Bridge: Rangitoto College
Auckland Cup: Auckland Grammar
Central North: Napier Boys High
Lower North: n/a
Top of the South: Waimea College
Lower South: Christchurch Boys High

Well done to all 28 teams who competed at the nationals in Algies Bay this season, as well as the numerous others who competed at regional level at the other regattas throughout the season. We are hoping to see all and more back for another year of team sailing when the season kicks off in the Spring for the Whangarei Spring Champs in the October school holidays.