Saint Kentigern College Premier Yachting Team Retain Auckland Cup

This year the Bucklands Beach Yacht Club hosted the Auckland Secondary Schools Team Racing Regatta. The teams entered were, Saint Kentigern College, Pakuranga College, Auckland Grammar. Saint Cuthberts, Kings, Westlake and Long Bay.

The Saint Kentigern team were made up of, captain George Brasell, George Anyon, Alex Munro, Harry Craigie, Theo Lawson, Jamie Faulconbridge, Jessica Allen and Stephanie Kirkman.

Both days started in light airs but by midmorning a moderate west, south westerly developed to provide excellent team racing conditions.

Race management completed the 42 scheduled races on Day 1. On Day 2 semi- finals and finals were sailed, as well as plate divisions giving all teams great racing.

Having not lost a race on Day 1 Saint Kentigern opted to race Pakuranga in the semis in a best of three series. This meant that Kings would race Saint Cuthberts in the other semi.

Saint Kentigern College beat Pakuranga 2/0 in their semi, while Kings beat Saint Cuthberts in their closely fought semi.

In the final Saint Kentigern College beat Kings 2/0, winning the Auckland Cup without being defeated and thus qualifying for the Nationals at Algies Bay during the second week of the April holidays.

This was an outstanding effort. The Saint Kentigern College team received the Auckland Cup and \$300.00 worth of Harken gear.